Ondarte Residency, 2011, Akumal, Mexico

Ondarte International Artists Residency is a great program.

http://www.ondarteresidency.com/

On arrival, I was happy to find a beautiful facility, in the jungle, near a lagoon.

 

I spread out the tools, and did a few pieces right away, to get into the groove, and express a little.

 

 

Ondarte has a push-button espresso maker from “Intenso”.  This piece was a small tribute.

Then on a walk to the lagoon on day seven, I found some interesting sticks in the jungle.  I took

some back to the studio and things got more interesting.

Gathering sticks became a priority, then having friends gather sticks for me.  It was on.

I decided to use multiple sticks in a loose sphere.  I’ve never had much success at working small.

 

 

 

The work became seriously gratifying, and it was cold m and m’s and hot coffee for me.

 

 

4 thoughts on “Ondarte Residency, 2011, Akumal, Mexico

  1. Hi K

    Lovely, will return to look for more.

    Artist friend Jennifer Bain (that’s her domaine name did stick scultping in 1984-1986 you can see images of those pieces at her site.

    Like you she is a yoga practicing, artist, gentle good soul

    Best
    Dana

  2. Hi Karl, We have land in Valladolid (inland between Cancun & Merida) I’d love to find some iron worker/artist who can help with designing some gates for our property. Can you recommend? I’m just assuming you may have made connections while south of the border. Thank you, DR

Leave a comment